ASAA Family Sites:
Sleep Apnea logo sleeptember logo

Oral Appliances for Sleep Apnea

[Which Oral Device is best for me?][1]

Hello all,
Here is a lovely piece put together by our friends at the American Thoracic Society which speaks directly to the patient. Bottom line your physical makeup is going to determine what type of appliance you may be a candidate for, just like it is also a factor in what CPAP mask is best for you. The key is getting to a properly trained dentist who is well versed in a number of appliances and their pros and cons as to select the one that is right for you.
Sweet Dreams,
Daryl Coleman
Great Lakes Orthodontics, Ltd.
Tonawanda, NY
[1]: http://www.thoracic.org/patients/patient-resources/resources/oral-appliances-sleep-apnea.pdf?gclid=Cj0KEQiAsNyxBRDBuKrMhsbt3vwBEiQAdRgPsgSsUuG-I3wTqQkD-HRw1i3PlIe2s9vTOBjyYLyZ-VgaAsF-8P8HAQ

I am a dentist working in dental sleep medicine. Please be aware that all dental sleep apnea appliances are not equally effective. Your sleep dentist should be able to provide you with written efficacy studies to show you exactly how effective each appliance that he is proposing to treat your case has been in treating OSA. Personally, if he can not show you these studies, I would not be comfortable getting the appliance. a.b.luisi,d.m.d.

Good point, Dr. Luisi. I would feel more sure of wearing something that has been researched.

This doesn’t have to do with choosing an oral appliance, but some very recent research titled “The Effects of an Oral Appliance in Obstructive Sleep Apnea Patients with Prehypertension” published in the Journal of Dental Sleep Medicine.

http://www.jdsm.org/ViewArticle.aspx?pid=29984

Here is an article depicting the various dental appliances:

Thank you so much for sharing this awesome display of oral appliances. Certainly a great resource for us patients as we want to learn more about our choices!