ASAA Family Sites:
Sleep Apnea logo sleeptember logo

Mild Sleep Apnea

Does anyone have mild Sleep Apnea? Can mild Sleep Apnea cause the same symptoms and complications as moderate or severe Sleep Apnea does?

I am a dentist working in dental sleep medicine. Large numbers of people have mild sleep apnea. Mild sleep apnea can cause poor sleep and excessive daytime sleepiness just like the more severe versions. Interestingly, there is not always a linear relationship between symptoms and severity, i.e., some people with mild OSA are more tired than the people with moderate OSA, etc… However, it appears that mild sleep apnea may not put you at risk for the most severe consequences of moderate to severe OSA, heart attack and stroke. And mortality data appears to suggest that mild OSA may not lower the life span as substantially as does untreated moderate to severe OSA. a.b.luisi,d.m.d.

Hi, my name is Eve and I also have mild or moderate sleep apnea. What I don’t understand, no one will discuss the Apneas that I have each night. I have anywhere from 5-37 apneas each night and no one will discuss this with me. I had a son that died of sleep apnea. The Doctor or the RT don’t seem concern, but I am. Maybe if the explain it to me I will not worry.

@Eve - First let me ask you, have you received any treatment, such as CPAP or a dental appliance?

There’s no such thing as “Mild” sleep apnea, lack of oxygen to the brain is not mild.