ASAA Family Sites:
Sleep Apnea logo sleeptember logo

How many apneas and hypopneas per night

I use a resmed sleep machine at an 11-15 auto adjust pressure with nasal pillows. I am able to log on to a MyAir program that gives me my results in how many hours sleep, mask seal, etc. One of the readings is for apneas and hypopneas per night. My lowest is 1.5 my average is 2 or higher to 2.75. Any feedback is welcome because there is no one here in N Michigan that handles sleep apnea.

Hi there. First of all I must advise I am NOT a medical professional and you should consult one!

In my personal opinion, your AHI is fabulous! You are very well treated according to that data. Below 10 is considered normal so well done.

Thanks so much. I was wondering what the typical number was to be concerned. I would like to see a DR. The only one is far away and I am on a wait list. Few DR’s in N Michigan.

My doctor has a goal of less than 5 per hour. you seems to be getting great results.

Obstructive Sleep Apnea (OSA) generally has three levels of severity broken down into how many times an apneic or hypopnea event occurs per hour (AHI). Mild cases range from 5-15 events/hour (AHI 5-15), moderate 15-30 (AHI 15-30), and severe > 30 events (AHI >30). If you’re AHI is between 1.5 and 2.75, your ResMed machine is treating you successfully. Always good to follow up with your Sleep physician or PCP.

I thought 5 or below was considered normal for ahi.

I also see in how I worded my question that one thing is not clear. That number I get is per hour not per night. Even on a great night that means a total of 12 or over. I am clarifying because I was talkig with my husband and he said my question didn’t say per hour.