ASAA Family Sites:
Sleep Apnea logo sleeptember logo

Full mask and dribbling

Morning, i’m new to this whole CPAP thing, I long suspected I had apnea and well finally its been diagnosed and I got my whole set up about 28 days ago…so my issue is the folllowing. At night I end up with my mouth open…when I relax I dribble…

Now I have been given a full face mask due to the fact I have the open mouth (im already onfull face mask number 2) …I hate it as when I dribble (if I move to my side, which is most comfortable for me) the mask gets wet inside and wakes me…sorry it sounds so grose, but its a real issue!!

I am worried the nurse who is incharge of all of this stuff may think I am just being silly about it and a difficult patient, as well It is my second mask…I want to try a nasal mask as I feel that with time I will be able to sleep with my mouth closed hence no dribble issue, I start the nights off with it closed, but with years and years of this untreated the open mouth is the result…Am I just being silly or has anyone else suffered from the ‘dribble’ issue?? For me it seems logical a nose mask is a good option…

I am new to this and dont want to anatagonise the nurse just yet and I realise it takes time, I am one of the 100 times a night pee, night sweats, horrendous morning headaches etc etc due to Apnea kinda peeps…so I will keep trying if I have to with the full face mask, but bar placing toilet paper inside the mask I really think I should try the nose mask…Please share your thoughts…

My dream is to go to sleep and wake up the next morning having not woken during the night…I have only ever done this twice in my whole life (possibly bar being a kid under about 8 years old!)…I dream of sleep being a pleasure…not what I have now…hence why I will keep going as I really want to sleep like the dead!!!