ASAA Family Sites:
Sleep Apnea logo sleeptember logo

Benefits of CPAP?

Hi, I was recently diagnosed with moderate sleep apnea, have just started using a CPAP and am still adjusting to the machine. I am going to give it a serious try, but am not yet convinced that it will be worth the effort and bother. I was wondering if any longtime users could comment on the benefits they have seen from their use of CPAP machines - are they dramatic or subtle, and how long did it take before you began to notice improvements?

I have been using my cpap for over 8 years. Before cpap I had restless nights and I was tired all day, everyday. I was told by my guy that I stop breathing in my sleep. After my sleep study I was told I woke up unknowingly 50+ times. My cpap has been a life saver for me. I adjusted to it pretty quickly and I have the best nights sleep every night. I literally cannot go to sleep without it. The benefits of using it were immediate! I used to use the mask but now I use the nose buds and I love them.

Thanks very much for your encouraging reply! I’m going to keep trying and will experiment with different masks to see what works best.

Mrutsj, how long seems vary widely. It took me a month+ and a concerted effort to get used to sleeping with am CPAP, but I saw benefits before then – less in hours slept than numbers for waking oxygen and heart rate.

Mask fit matters so much. I’m on a ResMed 10, use a nose pillow and started with a chin harness too but don’t need to use it anymore.

Recently, I inadvertently tested those benefits when away from home for a battery of PH tests. I fell asleep and slept without it for the first time in 6 months. I woke up tired, oxygen numbers and felt rotten all day.