ASAA Family Sites:
Sleep Apnea logo sleeptember logo

66 AIH per Hour

I was recently diagnosed with sleep apnea with 66AIH per hour. I knew I was tired and felt as though I only had a few good hours a day to accomplish anything but I never would have thought anything was wrong had it not been for my husband telling me to get a test.
After 2 two months I am down to 15 AIH per hour I am better, not great, but I still need 9 Hours sleep to feel rested. Will that improve?

I am a dentist working in dental sleep medicine. Going from an AHI of 66 down to an AHI of 15 is a tremendous improvement. OSA that severe tends to do a considerable amount of damage to your body over time. Therefore your body also needs a considerable amount of time to repair the damage. First the damage is repaired and then you feel the difference by feeling better. It could take more time for you to feel the maximum benefit, maybe two to four months more or even more. I would also work with your sleep doctor and/or DME provider to see if your CPAP can be optimized to get your AHI down even more. Ideally it should be down below 5. If you got a little closer to that, you might feel a little sharper. However, medically, you are already at a much better place with an AHI of 15. Good luck to you! a.b.luisi,d.m.d.

Thank you, SleepDent. I agree with Dr. Luisi. You have shown tremendous improvement! Keep up the great work, but don’t feel bad about needing 9 hours of sleep :slight_smile:

I am an advocate for the field of sleep medicine and for its patients. In the US, it is not uncommon for people to feel guilty or ashamed of “taking” the sleep they need for optimal daytime performance. Some have the notion that it is a “weakness” to need to sleep longer hours take or take naps. We as a country do not embrace slumber as a “true need” as we do diet, exercise and the like. Europeans think we are insane for feeling this way as they embrace their sleep and nap times.